JavaScript for WordPress Forums Vanilla JavaScript JavaScript is the BALLS!

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    William
    Participant

I am LOVING everything I’m learning right now. Zac, I’m so glad you put this together.
    Not only do you really drop it down to super super basics, but I love that you walk through the process of thinking like a developer.
    I’ve been building sites on WordPress for 10 years now, but was always learning by trial/error and throwing shit till it stuck. I got decent enough at it that way to earmn some money at it. But this is a new level for me.

I just got done with DOM (and took a sneak peek at VanillaPress which got me school-girl-giddy) , but I’m going to start over from the beginning and make sure I nail down each little thing, variable, function, etc. etc. and spend actual time monkeying around.
    If I could suggest something that might help: Actual assignments as opposed to “play around and do stuff.” If I had a small assignment at the end of each video that was specific, I could make my way through it, then actually see it in action, and then be able to get a little creative on my own.

Thank you brother. Really. I haven’t been getting work lately, and I’ve been on the fence of giving up the web stuff the last 6 months or so. And this course has got me so excited about bringing a fresh new element to my skills and life.

Joseph
    Participant

@William, I created my own assignments which was no more really than trying to rewrite each topic in the browser and hack about chaning names, values, etc.

Like you I learned javascript by hitting my head against a desk and making things work (eventually). Last time I seriously looked at Javascript was almost 20 years ago and that was just through trial and error and a few books.

I agree, learning this stuff in a more structured way is really useful.

Keep up the great work everyone.

Zac Gordon
    Keymaster

William thank you so much for sharing this.